Today, on 19 May, the Legal Affairs Committee of the Saeima (Parliament) supported candidacy of Ivars Bickovics, current Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, for repeated confirmation in this office.

Seven deputies of the Committee voted for candidacy of I.Bickovics, and three voted against him.

The vote is planned to be held in the Saeima on 28 May.

Candidacy of Ivars Bickovics was nominated by the Plenary Session of the Supreme Court, previously having received positive support of the Council for the Judiciary to this candidature. 

Ivars Bickovics has managed the Supreme Court since 2008. In accordance with amendments made to the law “On Judicial Power”,  further the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court has been confirmed in the office for the term of five years, and the same person  may not hold the office of the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court for more than two terms in turn.


Information prepared by

Rasma Zvejniece, the Head of the Division of Communication of the Supreme Court

E-mail:, telephone: 67020396, 28652211